Bristol Community College is proud to announce that graduating student Felisa Ojadi-Kedigui has been named a 2023-2024 Newman Civic Fellow by Campus Compact, a Boston-based, nonprofit organization working to advance the public purposes of higher education.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is a year-long program for students from Campus Compact member institutions. The students selected for the fellowship are leaders on their campuses who demonstrate a commitment to finding solutions for challenges facing communities locally, nationally and internationally.

Felisa Ojadi-Kedigui is a student leader with a passion for community and a commitment to the health and wellness of children. Felisa currently serves as Vice President of the college’s Student Senate, as well as the Diversity Leader of Bristol’s Multicultural Student Center, with a focus on ensuring equality and engagement. She supports her community through her work as a Residential Counselor for a youth program in Fall River and as a volunteer with Bristol’s Mobile Food Market, in partnership with the Greater Boston Food Bank. She will graduate this spring with an Associate in Science in early childhood education and continue her education to achieve her goal of working with the United Nations.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides participants with a variety of learning and networking opportunities that emphasize personal, professional and civic growth. Each year, fellows participate in numerous virtual training and networking opportunities to help provide them with the skills and connections they need to create large-scale positive change.

The fellowship is named for the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders, who was a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education. In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors nominate student leaders from their campuses to be named Newman Civic Fellows.

For more information about the Newman Civic Fellowship, including a complete list of 2023-2024 recipients including Bristol Community College student Felisa Ojadi-Kedigui, please visit