Commencement Honorees

Tuesday, May 7 2019

It is our pleasure to announce that the Bristol Community College Board of Trustees has approved awards to be presented at our June 1, 2019 Commencement.

Awards to be presented community members who have made exceptional contributions in service to our community and to the college. This year’s honorees are:

• Honorary Degree in Humane Letters: Zelma A. Braga
• Distinguished Citizen: Nicholas A. Christ

2019 Valedictorian and Salutatorian

After reviewing a pool of several qualified, high-achieving students, two students stood out from the crowd and will have the honor of being named part of this year’s valedictory. They are:

• Valedictorian: Dawn M. Lopes, Human Services
• Salutatorian: Amanda M. DaCosta, Clinical Laboratory Science

2019 Professors Emeriti

Bristol Community College Board of Trustees approved the 2019 Professors Emeriti, who will be honored at Commencement on June 1. These awards recognize retired members of the faculty chosen by their peers for excellence in teaching and community service. This year’s honorees include:

• Professor Emerita of History, Marlene Pollock
• Professor Emeritus of Business, Cecil Leonard
• Professor Emerita of Mathematics, Yanjun Chen

2019 Last Lecture

Don Kilguss Last Lecture IP ImageThe Last Lecture is a faculty honor created by the Bristol Community College Student Senate.

This award honors one exemplary faculty member who has affected students’ education and their lives in significant ways. This year, Donald Kilguss, Jr., Associate Professor of History, has been chosen to present the Last Lecture at commencement.

This year’s Grand Marshal is Kevin Garganta, who recently retired as the program director of the human services program.

2019 Commencement Address

We are also delighted to announce that Dr. Carolyn Heeps will provide the commencement address. Dr. Heeps is the head of renewables, North America at Lloyd’s Register and received recognition in the 2017 100 Women in Wind report.

Dr. Carolyn Heeps IP ImageDr. Heeps has over 35 years of experience in the marine sciences and industry sector, including 18 years in the marine renewable energy sector with a focus on offshore wind.

In 2001, Dr. Heeps joined The Crown Estate (UK) where she was responsible for establishing the first two leasing rounds of offshore wind, which has led to the UK becoming the global leader in this sector. While at The Crown Estate, Dr. Heeps also founded COWRIE (Collaborative Offshore Wind into the Environment), a charitable fund established to support a program of environmental research to understand the impact of offshore wind.

Upon leaving the Crown Estate in 2008, Dr. Heeps provided project support to Ørsted, the world’s largest offshore wind developer, where she specifically aided Ørsted’s permitting team, with an emphasis on stakeholder engagement and communications. From 2016-2018, she held the position of Chair of the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA).

Since joining Lloyd’s Register in June 2018, Dr. Heeps has expanded Lloyd’s Register’s service provision in North America, focusing on the needs of the supply chain, development services and workforce development.

Stay tuned for next week’s edition, where we will announce the professors emeriti, last lecture, grand marshall and valedictorian and salutatorian.

Please join us in congratulating and celebrating these remarkable individuals on June 1!